Copperwyre’s Blog

Stretching a Penny Until It’s Copper Wire!

Why I’ve come back

Posted by Penny Copperwyre on January 20, 2013

I have found that the world in general doesn’t seem to care about true frugality or being good stewards.  Or at least the population around here doesn’t seem to.  It’s difficult not to have anyone to share my triumphs and tribulations with.  The generally accepted practices are to shop for new clothes at sale prices and use coupons.  My lifestyle is completely different.

I raise ducks (8), a chicken,  and two turkeys in my yard.  I have two rabbits that I intend to breed together for meat.  I can my own fruits, vegetables, meats, convenience meals, and other assorted foods.  (Basically, as my DH says, I’ll can anything that I can get to fit in the jar.)  I bake my own breads and treats. I ferment veggies and cure meats. Food I do buy from the store comes from either an Amish store or a salvaged grocery store. I don’t have cable tv and can’t talk about the latest trash.  All my clothes come from secondhand shops and my son wears cloth diapers.

When I share my lifestyle choices with people, they tend to either feign polite interest or say borderline rude comments like “that’s disgusting.”  I used to try to educate people about frugality when they would complain about finances in the teacher’s lounge.  But I’m finding that they don’t really want to change or do anything that could be percieved as “work.”  They just want to bemoan their circumstances and go on as they have. Mind you, I try not to let it get to me, but it is disheartening not to have anyone to talk to.

Unfortunately, I let it get to me to the point that I had given up many of my favorite activies.  I started eating out more, even though we didn’t have the money to spend on such nonsense.  I’m ashamed to admit it, but our finances have gotten into a shambles, though some of it was out of my control.

I’m here to reach out to the community of frugal people who revel in saving money and resources.  Those who think that fermenting and canning are awesome.  Those who raise as much of their food as they can.  I need a place to crow and cry about homesteading in my woefully inadequate suburban plot.

And so, with a new resolve, here I am, back to share what I know and learn in return.

2 Responses to “Why I’ve come back”

  1. Wendy said

    Welcome back to blogging! I’ve found that there is a whole blog community of people just like you who are “growing food instead of lawns”, who cloth diaper, line dry clothes, eschew commercial television, etc. I hope you’ll hang out and share your experiences, because I know we can all learn a lot from each other ; ).

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

